Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Option to Turn Off the Swear Filter

Option to Turn Off the Swear Filter

Basically, the idea is to add an option that let's you turn on and off the swear filter.

Please note that this is an option, so it is a choice for the player to turn the filter on and off.

Why should we add this?

Well first of all it's annoying to get jailed for cussing. Cussing shouldn't be considered a "crime". Everyone should have freedom of speech on this game. I've been playing this game since 2011, so I'm obviously not a kid anymore, I'm grown and wish to say what I want and still enjoy the game.

Second of all, the swear filter is flawed, there's so many normal words you can't say because the end and beginning of words spell out a cuss word. How many times have you seen this message or the "Do not try to evade to swear filter" one

Screenshot_2017-10-18-14-32-01-1.jpg

Graal Ol' West has the option to turn it off and that server works fine, so I think iEra should have it also.

"What about the kids?". If a kid turns the swear filter off well that's not our fault. That's the parents' responsibility to monitor what their kids are doing.

This option has also existed on the PC era server for years, but it's different from the Ol West one. On PC era you pick the severity of the swear filter depending on the player's age. The younger, the more curse words are censored.

I'm sure over 75% of jailings are because of swearing, so if some of those jailed players are kids, well obviously Graal didn't teach them those words. Admins could really focus on other more important problems than somebody using the f bomb that has no bad intentions.
    Screenshot_2017-10-18-14-38-27-1.jpg

Harassment/Hacking/Innapropriate gang pictures/staff impersonation/boosting should be the main focus.